1960s Cannery Model Discovered on Third Floor

While recently poking around the vacant third floor of FASCU’s new home at the Cannery, we came across a curious relic nestled into one corner of a seldom-used conference room. An architectural model of the Cannery, which we’ve discovered to be the actual model used during the structure’s 1960s renovation, has apparently survived the last 46 years as a quiet resident of the historical building. We actually found two photos placing the model’s creation in 1965 — first, in the photograph above, then-owner of the Cannery Leonard Martin poses with the model in the gutted-out interior of what would eventually become the current Cannery interior. A second photo (below) betrays what actually survives of the original 1907 Cannery structure: its four outer walls!

We think it’s pretty extraordinary that this model has survived over four decades, complete with the miniature Matchbox cars that can be seen in the ’60s photos. Too bad the empty, toll-free curb parking didn’t translate to the modern day…